This award, presented in the form of a plaque to the selected individual, began in 1995.  Nominations will be evaluated based on an individual's contribution to their institution and/or SWACUHO in the areas of cultural diversity, quality of programs, and/or achievements of the individual that have facilitated the growth and betterment of the individual's institutional or reigional environment.

Criteria for Selection:

A successful nominee must meet the following criteria:

    • Currently employed at a SWACUHO member institution as a faculty or staff member.
    • Contributes significantly to the residence life program and university community on their campus by enhancing diversity and social justice awareness, understanding, and education.

Past Winners:

2024 Dr. Monique Bruner, Rose State College

2023 Ana Fernandes, Texas Tech University

2022 Anna Burton, Texas Tech University

2021 Tiffany Bromfield, University of North Texas

2018 Annette Sawadogo, Texas Tech University

2017 Dr. Tom├ís Sanchez,  University of North Texas

2016 D'Andrea Young, Texas Tech University

2015 Melissa Cook, Texas Tech University

2014 Markus Harris, University of North Texas

2013 Dustin Grabsch, Texas Tech University

2012 Gloria Allen, University of Texas at Austin
Philemon Brown, University of Texas at Austin

2011 Kalup Phillips, Arkansas State University

2010 Sarah Peoples, Arkansas State University

2009 Christopher Ruiz, Texas Tech University

2008 Melanie Sawyer, University of North Texas

2007 Kerry Hooks, Texas Tech University

2006 Charlotte Strickland, University of Central Arkansas

2005 Von Eaglin, University of North Texas

2004 Sarah Uphoff, Texas State University

2003 Jake Hood, Texas Tech University

2002 Kim Brown, University of North Texas

2001 Sofia Rodriguez, Texas Tech University

2000 Drs. Ruth Gana and Tade Okediji, Cate Center Faculty in Residence, University of Oklahoma

1999 Dr. Rosa Cinitron, University of Oklahoma

1998 Richard DeShields, University of Central Arkansas

1997 Kathryn Olson, Sam Houston State University

1996 Ronald Jones, University of North Texas

1995 Milagros Mejias, Trinity University

Southwest Association of College & University Housing Officers

624 W. University Drive
PMB 418
Denton, TX 76201

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software