This award was created by the Recognition Committee in 1974 to recognize individuals who have contributed outstanding service and dedication to SWACUHO, past and present.  The selection committee for this award is composed of the Past President and the three state directors.  No more than two awards may be presented annually, and the award isn't necessarily presented each year.

The initial recipient of this award was James L. "Jim" Gibson, Director of Housing at the University of Arkansas.  His contributions to SWACUHO began in 1969 with an appointment to the Arkansas State Director position.  Upon completion of his term, he served as vice president and then President of the Association.  Gibson served as a co-chair of the Conference Host Committee in 1969 and as a member of the Evaluation, Development, and Information Committee in 1975-1976.  He was also a winner of the Excellence Award for Staff Training and Selection in 1974.  He remained active in SWACUHO until his death in February of 1981.

Recognizing the importance of his leadership and contributions to SWACUHO, the Recognition and Awards Committee recommended in 1982 that the Exceptional Service Award be named to honor the memory of Jim Gibson.  The recommendation was accepted unanimously by the Executive Committee.

To receive this award, a SWACUHO member must serve in a manner that is truly exceptional.

Criteria for Selection:

A successful nominee must meet the following criteria:

    • Be a current or former employee of a SWACUHO member institution
    • Have demonstrated outstanding service and dedication to SWACUHO, past and present

Award recipients are determined by the SWACUHO Executive Board.

Past Winners:

2024 Kyle Estes, Texas State University
Dana Grant, Sam Houston State University

2023 Felisha Perrodin, University of Arkansas
Tanya Massey, Texas Tech University

2018 Jill Eckhardt, Texas Woman's University

2017 Kenneth Mauk, University of Houston

2015 Sean Duggan, Texas Tech University

2014 Debbie Gentry, University of Arkansas at Little Rock

2013 Susan Strobel Hogan, Southern Methodist University

2009 Dan Mizer, Texas A&M University

2007 John White, University of Texas at San Antonio

2006 Tom Murray, Texas A&M University

2005 J Courson, Southern Arkansas University
Susan Austin, Southern Methodist University

2004 E. Thayne King, Texas A&M University - Commerce

2003 Bob Huss, Oklahoma State University

2002 Nyla Ptomey, Texas Tech University

1999 Chuck Colby, University of Tulsa

1998 Bambi Harris, Texas Woman's University

1997 Nancy Murphy-Chadwick, Texas Woman's University

1995 Kent Sampson, Oklahoma State University

1993 Julie Wilksten, Southern Methodist University

1989 Frank Cloud, Sam Houston State University
Robert P. Cooke, University of Texas at Austin

1987 Tom Penett, University of Houston

1985 Phil Bridger, Arkansas State University

1982 Bruce Gurd, University of Houston

1976 Nevada Blackburn, University of Texas at Austin
Gene Ward, Southern Methodist University

Southwest Association of College & University Housing Officers

624 W. University Drive
PMB 418
Denton, TX 76201

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software